SUR

Le pianiste franco-britannique RIOPY est dans les charts Billboard Classical depuis près de 12O semaines avec son deuxième album Tree of Light, sorti en 2O19. Il a été n ° 1 aux États-Unis pendant cinq semaines en janvier et février 2O22. Aujourd'hui, sa musique a recueilli plus de 600 millions de flux.

L'HISTOIRE

Ce fut un parcours incroyable pour ce musicien-compositeur unique, dont la forte personnalité et la détermination inspirent un public toujours plus nombreux.


Jean-Philippe RIOPY a eu une enfance douloureuse, durant laquelle le piano a été sa bouée de sauvetage. Joueur entièrement autodidacte, il quitte son pays natal à 18 ans pour tenter sa chance à l'étranger. Après dix ans de voyages et de nombreuses rencontres fatidiques, comme avec Chris Martin qui lui offre un piano, il s'installe à Londres et commence à composer pour le cinéma (bandes-annonces de films oscarisés tels que The Danish Girl, The Shape of Water, et Mr. Turner) et des publicités (Armani, Samsung, IKEA, Peugeot). Malgré ce succès dans sa vie et sa carrière, il était toujours confronté à la lutte contre la dépression chronique. Cette vulnérabilité est apparue dans la musique de ses deux premiers albums, RIOPY et Tree of Light en 2O18 et 2O19 avec Warner Classics. Dans 2O2O, ces deux albums ont connu un énorme succès, principalement aux États-Unis et en Asie, grâce à des playlists de méditation et de yoga. C'est alors qu'un public plus large découvre sa virtuosité et sa musique, offrant réconfort et paix à une époque où chacun fait face aux difficultés d'une pandémie mondiale.


La musique de RIOPY, qui lui a sauvé la vie, puis a pris son envol pour partager ses qualités bénéfiques avec le monde.

Après avoir vécu 15 ans en Angleterre, éventuellement avec la double nationalité française et britannique, RIOPY revient en France en août 2O2O pour composer et enregistrer un nouvel album. En tant que nouveau père, il décide de déménager sa famille dans le sud de la France pour passer l'été en pleine nature et donner vie à son troisième album. Il a enregistré les 11 titres dans la maison La Vernatelle, qui a donné son nom à l'un des titres phares du projet. Bliss a révélé une nouvelle facette du talent de RIOPY, marqué par l'influence de la paternité : un univers plus calme qui incarne une période de bonheur et de sérénité retrouvée. Poursuivant sa route vers de nouvelles expériences, l'artiste dévoile aujourd'hui trois titres inédits pour enrichir l'album, qui devient BLISS [extended].

EXPOSITION ÉNORME

L'album Bliss est sorti en juillet 2021 chez Warner Classics. Pendant ce temps, RIOPY s'est toujours bien classé dans le Top 1O des charts Billboard Classical avec Tree of Light, sorti en 2O19. Bliss a fait ses débuts dans le Top des albums classiques français aux côtés des deux albums précédents et a rapidement atteint la deuxième place des charts. L'Europe commençait seulement à découvrir ce talent d'évasion.

Son histoire et sa musique ont rapidement séduit les auditeurs à travers le continent, comme il en avait déjà tant d'autres dans le monde.

Pour la première fois de sa carrière, RIOPY a reçu une exposition médiatique importante dans son pays d'origine, la France. Entouré d'une nouvelle équipe, il revient sur scène lors de deux concerts parisiens à guichets fermés, au Café de la Danse et au Trianon. Cela a lancé une tournée qui s'est poursuivie en Allemagne et en Angleterre avec un concert à l'Union Chapel de Londres, suivi de festivals d'été à Montreux, en Suisse et à Vienne, en France. Cette série de concerts reprendra à l'automne à travers l'Europe en Scandinavie, au Benelux, en Autriche et au Portugal avant de traverser l'océan en fin d'année pour se conclure aux États-Unis et au Canada.

C'est dans ce contexte que l'album BLISS [extended] est sorti le 26 août, enrichi de trois titres inédits : Fantasy, The First Waltz et Human Compassion.

BLISS [extended] clôt une trilogie débutée en 2018 avec l'album RIOPY, puis avec Tree of Light qui a propulsé l'artiste au sommet des charts en 2020.

LE TOUR DU MONDE

RIOPY a entamé une tournée mondiale au printemps 2O22 qui se terminera au Japon et en Chine à l'automne 2O23. Les millions de personnes qui écoutent sa 

musique dans le monde entier pourront enfin entendre RIOPY jouer dans des salles à 

dimensions humaines – pour découvrir sa virtuosité, sa spontanéité, la sincérité de un artiste qui s'est créé une vie grâce à sa détermination et qui partage maintenant avec bonheur sa musique et son expérience avec le plus de gens possible.



Performance coproduite et tournée organisée par Junzi Arts.

À propos de

Le pianiste franco-britannique RIOPY est dans les charts Billboard Classical depuis près de 1OO semaines avec son deuxième album Tree of Light, sorti en 2O19. Il a été n ° 1 aux États-Unis pendant cinq semaines en janvier et février 2O22. Aujourd'hui, sa musique a recueilli plus de 450 millions de flux.

L'histoire

Ce fut un parcours incroyable pour ce musicien-compositeur unique, dont la forte personnalité et la détermination inspirent un public toujours plus nombreux. Le 26 août 2O22, RIOPY sortira l'album [extended] BLISS, une nouvelle édition de son dernier album comportant trois titres inédits, qu'il interprétera également en live lors d'une tournée à travers l'Europe et l'Amérique du Nord en 2O22, puis l'Asie en 2O23.

Carrière

Jean-Philippe RIOPY a eu une enfance douloureuse, durant laquelle le piano a été sa bouée de sauvetage. Joueur entièrement autodidacte, il quitte son pays natal à 18 ans pour tenter sa chance à l'étranger. Après dix ans de voyages et de nombreuses rencontres fatidiques, comme avec Chris Martin qui lui offre un piano, il s'installe à Londres et commence à composer pour le cinéma (bandes-annonces de films oscarisés tels que The Danish Girl, The Shape of Water, et Mr. Turner) et des publicités (Armani, Samsung, IKEA, Peugeot). Malgré ce succès dans sa vie et sa carrière, il était toujours confronté à la lutte contre la dépression chronique. Cette vulnérabilité est apparue dans la musique de ses deux premiers albums, RIOPY et Tree of Light en 2O18 et 2O19 avec Warner Classics. Dans 2O2O, ces deux albums ont connu un énorme succès, principalement aux États-Unis et en Asie, grâce à des playlists de méditation et de yoga. C'est alors qu'un public plus large découvre sa virtuosité et sa musique, offrant réconfort et paix à une époque où chacun fait face aux difficultés d'une pandémie mondiale.

La musique de RIOPY, qui lui sauve la vie, prend alors son envol partager ses qualités bénéfiques avec le monde.

Après avoir vécu 15 ans en Angleterre, éventuellement avec la double nationalité française et britannique, RIOPY revient en France en août 2O2O pour composer et enregistrer un nouvel album. En tant que nouveau père, il décide de déménager sa famille dans le sud de la France pour passer l'été en pleine nature et donner vie à son troisième album. Il a enregistré les 11 titres dans la maison La Vernatelle, qui a donné son nom à l'un des titres phares du projet. Bliss a révélé une nouvelle facette du talent de RIOPY, marqué par l'influence de la paternité : un univers plus calme qui incarne une période de bonheur et de sérénité retrouvée. Poursuivant sa route vers de nouvelles expériences, l'artiste dévoile aujourd'hui trois titres inédits pour enrichir l'album, qui devient [extended] BLISS.

Fantasy, The First Waltz et Human Compassion ont été enregistrés et produits aux Snap Studios de Londres le 2 mai 2O22.

La Fantasy, beaucoup plus complexe dans sa structure, marque une réelle évolution dans l'approche musicale de l'artiste . Il met en valeur l'identité forte d'un musicien qui met sa virtuosité au service de nouveaux registres, tant musicaux que cérébraux.

The First Waltz s'inscrit parfaitement dans la lignée des onze titres de Bliss. RIOPY explore la nature délicate de la valse de manière très personnelle.

Human Compassion, écrit à une époque bouleversée en Europe, apporte une touche mélancolique à cet album apaisant, avec une mélodie puissante qui agit comme un lueur d'espoir - marque de fabrique de la musique de RIOPY.

Entretien avec RIOPY

QUEL EST LE SENS DE BLISS ?
Le sens littéral de BLISS évoque un moment de pur bonheur, d'extase, une période de ravissement que rien ne peut troubler. C'est un état de conscience où la peur n'existe pas. Ce n'est pas une émotion mais une condition, un état d'être.

COMMENT VOYEZ-VOUS CET ALBUM AU SEIN DE VOTRE DISCOGRAPHIE PLUS LARGE ?

Par rapport à mes deux premiers albums, RIOPY en 2018 et Tree of Light en 2019, Bliss est un projet créé dans une sorte de sérénité.

Jusqu'alors, ma musique s'inscrivait dans une forme d'auto-thérapie.

Cet album s'appelle Bliss parce qu'il incarne une période de bonheur et la fin d'un passé douloureux.

C'EST VOTRE PREMIER ENREGISTREMENT MADE IN FRANCE ;

CELA REPRÉSENTE-T-IL QUELQUE CHOSE DE SPÉCIAL POUR VOUS ?

Après 17 ans années d'exil en Angleterre, retourner dans le pays où je suis né signifie quelque chose de spécial pour moi. C'était un double challenge : enregistrer en France et faire la paix avec mon passé. J'ai composé et enregistré Bliss dans le sud de la France, dans une maison isolée près de La Garde-Freinet dans le département du Var. Ce voyage dans un univers très serein et le contact avec la nature ont influencé le ton de l'album.

AVEC DES TITRES TELLES QUE NOAH, LULLABY, SWEET AWAKENING, SENSE OF HOPE, EPIPHANY ET SWEET DREAM, PEUT-ON DIRE QUE BLISS UN PROJET EST-IL INSPIRÉ DE LA PATERNITÉ ?

Oui, devenir père a changé ma vie. C'est un nouveau protocole de bonheur, une forme de renaissance. Dans mon cas personnel, cela peut être assimilé à la résolution d'un traumatisme, une conclusion à une thérapie. Et, bien sûr, la naissance de mes deux enfants est une grande partie de cette musique. Noah est le nom de mon petit garçon, et tous ces titres symbolisent des sentiments complètement nouveaux pour moi.

IL SEMBLE QUE LA MARQUE DE VOTRE MUSIQUE, UN UNIVERS DE RÉPÉTITION ET DE MÉLODIES CONTINUES, RENONCE À DES RYTHMES PLUS PERCUSSIFS ;

POURQUOI EST-CE ?

C'est l'attribut de la sérénité. Ces chansons ont été écrites et enregistrées à une époque de confinement, une époque où les gens recherchaient de l'empathie, une époque où les ventes de pianos et la pratique du piano montaient en flèche. La méditation, le yoga et l'immersion dans la nature ont également certainement joué un rôle dans la structure de cet album. ÊTES-VOUS D'ACCORD ?

Human Compassion est une ode à l'espoir, une façon de transmettre ce que ma musique m'a apporté. Avec Fantasy, j'ai essayé de faire revivre la forme compositionnelle de la

"fantasia" dans la musique classique. L'idée de cette pièce est de synchroniser les deux mains et les deux parties du cerveau pour atteindre une parfaite osmose. La Première Valse est ma première valse sous la forme d'une illustration de la vie qui avance : positive, gaie et enfantine.

Ces trois pièces, qui clôturent une trilogie, marquent la fin de la peur et ouvrent un chemin vers de nouvelles expériences dans la musique et bien d'autres domaines...

COMMENT VOUS SENTEZ-VOUS DE VOTRE PREMIÈRE TOURNÉE MONDIALE ?

C'est une occasion importante de rencontrer mon public après une longue période où la pandémie a coupé de toute forme de relation autre que le partage de ma musique sur des plateformes numériques. Maintenant, pour la première fois, j'ai une tournée prévue autour du monde. Je peux enfin interagir avec des gens qui reflètent le bonheur que ma musique leur apporte. Un public de tous âges, de toutes nationalités, des musiciens, des enfants, des gens qui traversent parfois les frontières pour venir m'écouter, qui font perdurer nos conversations sur les réseaux sociaux... C'est une véritable épiphanie !

EXTENDED BLISS

RIOPY - Fantasy

The official music video for RIOPY - Fantasy

Director: Benjamin Carles & Ella Cerfontaine
Production: L'infinie Comédie

Album: Extended Bliss

RIOPY - The First Waltz

The official music video for RIOPY - The First Waltz

Director: Benjamin Carles & Ella Cerfontaine
Production: L'infinie Comédie

Album: Extended Bliss

RIOPY - Human Compassion

The official music video for RIOPY - Human Compassion

Director: Benjamin Carles & Ella Cerfontaine
Production: L'infinie Comédie

Album: Extended Bliss

ABOUT

French-British pianist RIOPY has been in the Billboard Classical charts for nearly 12O weeks with his second album Tree of Light, released in 2O19. It was No.1 in the US for five weeks in January and February 2O22. Today, his music has garnered over 600 million streams.

THE STORY

It has been an incredible journey for this unique musician-composer, whose strong personality and determination inspire an ever-growing audience.


Jean-Philippe RIOPY had a painful childhood, during which time the piano was his lifeline. An entirely self-taught player, he left his home country at 18 to try his luck abroad. After ten years of travels and many fateful encounters, such as with Chris Martin who gave him a piano, he settled in London and began to compose for cinema (trailers for Oscar-winning films such as The Danish Girl, The Shape of Water, and Mr. Turner) and advertisements (Armani, Samsung, IKEA, Peugeot). Despite this success in his life and career, he still faced the struggle of chronic depression. This vulnerability emerged in the music of his first two albums, RIOPY and Tree of Light in 2O18 and 2O19 with Warner Classics. In 2O2O, these two albums achieved massive success, primarily in the United States and Asia, through featuring on meditation and yoga playlists. It was then that a wider audience discovered his virtuosity and music, offering comfort and peace at a time when everyone faced the difficulties of a global pandemic.


The music of RIOPY, which saved his own life, then took flight to share its beneficial qualities with the world.

After living in England for 15 years, eventually with dual French and British nationality, RIOPY returned to France in August 2O2O to compose and record a new album. As a new father, he decided to move his family to the south of France to spend the summer surrounded by nature and bring to life his third album. He recorded the 11 tracks in the house La Vernatelle, which gave its name to one of the project’s flagship titles. Bliss revealed a new facet of RIOPY’s talent, affected by the influence of fatherhood: a calmer universe that embodies a period of bliss and newfound serenity. Continuing his drive toward new experiences, the artist now unveils three unreleased tracks to enrich the album, which becomes BLISS [extended].

HUGE EXPOSURE

The album Bliss was released in July 2O21 by Warner Classics. During this time, RIOPY still ranked strongly in the Top 1O of the Billboard Classical charts with Tree of Light, released in 2O19. Bliss debuted in the Top French Classical Albums alongside the previous two albums and quickly reached second place in the charts. Europe was only beginning to discover this breakout talent.

His story and music soon seduced listeners across the continent, as it had so many others in the world already. 

For the first time in his career, RIOPY received significant media exposure in his home country of France. Surrounded by a new team, he returned to the stage in two sold-out Paris concerts, at the Café de la Danse and the Trianon. This launched a tour that continued in Germany and in England with a concert at London’s Union Chapel, followed by summer festivals in Montreux, Switzerland and Vienne, France. This series of concerts will resume in the autumn across Europe in Scandinavia, the Benelux countries, Austria, and Portugal before crossing the ocean at the end of the year to conclude in the United States and Canada.

It is within this context that the album BLISS [extended] was released on August 26th, enriched with three unreleased tracks: Fantasy, The First Waltz, and Human Compassion.

BLISS [extended] closes a trilogy that began in 2018 with the album RIOPY, then with Tree of Light which propelled the artist to the top of the charts in 2020.

THE WORLD TOUR

RIOPY began a world tour in the spring of 2O22 that will conclude in Japan and China in the autumn of 2O23. The millions of people who listen to his 

music all over the world will finally be able to hear RIOPY play in venues of 

human dimensions – to discover his virtuosity, his spontaneity, the sincerity of an artist who has created a life for himself through determination and who now blissfully shares his music and his experience with as many people as he can.



Performance coproduced and tour organized by Junzi Arts.

About

French-British pianist RIOPY has been in the Billboard Classical charts for nearly 1OO weeks with his second album Tree of Light, released in 2O19. It was No.1 in the US for five weeks in January and February 2O22. Today, his music has garnered over 45O million streams.

The Story

It has been an incredible journey for this unique musician-composer, whose strong personality and determination inspire an ever-growing audience. On August 26, 2O22, RIOPY will release the album [extended] BLISS, a new edition of his last album featuring three unreleased tracks, which he will also perform live on a tour through Europe and North America in 2O22, then Asia in 2O23.

Career

Jean-Philippe RIOPY had a painful childhood, during which time the piano was his lifeline. An entirely self-taught player, he left his home country at 18 to try his luck abroad. After ten years of travels and many fateful encounters, such as with Chris Martin who gave him a piano, he settled in London and began to compose for cinema (trailers for Oscar-winning films such as The Danish Girl, The Shape of Water, and Mr. Turner) and advertisements (Armani, Samsung, IKEA, Peugeot). Despite this success in his life and career, he still faced the struggle of chronic depression. This vulnerability emerged in the music of his first two albums, RIOPY and Tree of Light in 2O18 and 2O19 with Warner Classics. In 2O2O, these two albums achieved massive success, primarily in the United States and Asia, through featuring on meditation and yoga playlists. It was then that a wider audience discovered his virtuosity and music, offering comfort and peace at a time when everyone faced the difficulties of a global pandemic.

The music of RIOPY, which saved his own life, then took flight to share its beneficial qualities with the world.

After living in England for 15 years, eventually with dual French and British nationality, RIOPY returned to France in August 2O2O to compose and record a new album. As a new father, he decided to move his family to the south of France to spend the summer surrounded by nature and bring to life his third album. He recorded the 11 tracks in the house La Vernatelle, which gave its name to one of the project’s flagship titles. Bliss revealed a new facet of RIOPY’s talent, affected by the influence of fatherhood: a calmer universe that embodies a period of bliss and newfound serenity. Continuing his drive toward new experiences, the artist now unveils three unreleased tracks to enrich the album, which becomes [extended] BLISS.

Fantasy, The First Waltz, and Human Compassion were recorded and produced at Snap Studios in London on May 2, 2O22.

Fantasy, much more complex in structure, marks a real evolution in the artist’s musical approach. It showcases the strong identity of a musician who puts his virtuosity at the service of new registers, both musical and cerebral.

The First Waltz falls perfectly in line with the eleven tracks of Bliss. RIOPY explores the delicate nature of the waltz in a very personal way.

Human Compassion, written during a turmoil-ridden time in Europe, brings a melancholic touch to this soothing album, with a powerful melody that acts as a glimmer of hope – trademark to the music of RIOPY.

Interview with RIOPY

WHAT IS THE MEANING OF BLISS?
The literal meaning of BLISS evokes a moment of pure happiness, ecstasy, a period of rapture that nothing can disturb. It's a state of consciousness where fear does not exist. It's not an emotion but a condition, a state of being.

HOW DO YOU SEE THIS ALBUM WITHIN YOUR WIDER DISCOGRAPHY?

Compared to my first two albums, RIOPY in 2018 and Tree of Light in 2019, Bliss is a project created in a kind of serenity.

Up until then, my music had been part of a form of self-therapy.

This album is called Bliss because it embodies a period of happiness and the end of a painful past.

THIS IS YOUR FIRST RECORDING MADE IN FRANCE;

DOES THAT REPRESENT SOMETHING SPECIAL TO YOU?

After 17 years of exile in England, returning to the country where I was born means something special to me. It was a dual challenge: recording in France and making peace with my past. I composed and recorded Bliss in the south of France, in an isolated house near La Garde-Freinet in the department of Var. This journey to a very serene universe and contact with nature influenced the tone of the album.

WITH TITLES SUCH AS NOAH, LULLABY, SWEET AWAKENING, SENSE OF HOPE, EPIPHANY, AND SWEET DREAM, CAN ONE SAY THAT BLISS IS A PROJECT INSPIRED BY FATHERHOOD?

Yes, becoming a father has changed my life. It's a new protocol of happiness, a form of rebirth. In my personal case, it can be likened to trauma resolution, a conclusion to therapy. And, of course, the birth of my two children is a big part of this music. Noah is the name of my little boy, and all these titles symbolize feelings that were completely new for me.

IT SEEMS THE TRADEMARK OF YOUR MUSIC, A UNIVERSE OF REPETITION AND CONTINUOUS MELODIES, FORGOES MORE PERCUSSIVE RHYTHMS;

WHY IS THIS?

This is the attribute of serenity. These songs were written and recorded at a time of confinement, a time when people were searching for empathy, a time when piano sales and piano playing were skyrocketing. Meditation, yoga, and immersion in nature definitely played a role in the structure of this album as well.

THE THREE NEW TRACKS OF [EXTENDED] BLISS, ON THE OTHER HAND, SUGGEST NEW EXPERIENCES; DO YOU AGREE?

Human Compassion is an ode to hope, a way to convey what my music has brought me. With Fantasy, I tried to revive the compositional form of the

"fantasia" in classical music. The idea of this piece is to synchronize the two hands and the two parts of the brain to reach a perfect osmosis. The First Waltz is my first waltz in the form of an illustration of life moving forward: positive, cheerful, and childlike.

These three pieces, which close a trilogy, mark the end of fear and open a path toward new experiences in music and many other fields...

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT YOUR FIRST WORLD TOUR?

This is an important opportunity to meet my audience after a long period when the pandemic cut off any form of relationship other than sharing my music on digital platforms. Now, for the first time, I have a tour planned around the world. I can finally interact with people who reflect the happiness that my music brings them. An audience of all ages, of all nationalities, musicians, children, people who sometimes cross borders to come and listen to me, who keep our conversations going on social media... It's a true epiphany!

EXTENDED BLISS

RIOPY - Fantasy

The official music video for RIOPY - Fantasy

Director: Benjamin Carles & Ella Cerfontaine
Production: L'infinie Comédie

Album: Extended Bliss

RIOPY - The First Waltz

The official music video for RIOPY - The First Waltz

Director: Benjamin Carles & Ella Cerfontaine
Production: L'infinie Comédie

Album: Extended Bliss

RIOPY - Human Compassion

The official music video for RIOPY - Human Compassion

Director: Benjamin Carles & Ella Cerfontaine
Production: L'infinie Comédie

Album: Extended Bliss